Mersey woman about town

MY LIFE IN LIPPY AND LEOPARD PRINT

I’m quoted in the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival newsletter!

Myself with Creative Thursday and Festival regulars Stuart MacBride and Mark Billingham

It’s one of the biggest events in every crime writer’s social and professional calendar next month, where the world’s best creators of serial killers, shit hot detectives and private eyes gather to talk, network, eat and drinkie. The Crime Writing Festival in Harrogate is 21st-24th July and it’s my third time attending this year. At many writing festivals us crime writers feel like the poor relation, but at Harrogate one is very much part of a barking mad yet fabulous family. I attended Creative Thursday at the festival last year, a day of workshops which also has a pitching session called Dragon’s Pen. I entered last year, and the folks down there asked me to supply a quote for their latest newsletter, out today.  It goes:

 ‘Creative Thursday is unique in that one can press the flesh of writers who are successful in the field which participants are keen to work in, and that makes all the difference. I loved taking part in Dragon’s Pen where I was fortunate to be chosen to pitch my novel ‘The Missing Link’ to Jane Gregory, Peter Robinson from RCW and others. I was even luckier when all four ‘dragons’ agreed to read my first chapter. I received some no nonsense feedback from all four on the day and via email since, which I have taken on board and my novel is now all the richer and better for it. Being a writer can often be isolating and frustrating, so ‘getting out there’ to events such as Creative Thursday, mixing with name authors and professionals who are happy to give you tips and encouragement is important and somewhat of a lifeline.” – Crime Writer Cath Bore

Thanks to the Festival for quoting me. Read the newsletter here

For more info on this year’s shin dig: http://www.harrogate-festival.org.uk/crime/

www.cathbore.com

3 comments on “I’m quoted in the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival newsletter!

  1. jo
    June 21, 2011

    Nice one! X

  2. chrislonChris Longmuir
    June 21, 2011

    I’m quoted in the newsletter as well. Are you going to Creative Thursday this year? I’ll be there as well as the festival, keep an eye out for me.
    Chris

  3. cathbore
    June 21, 2011

    Yes, I’m going on the Thursday as well as the rest of the Festival. I saw you in the newsletter too! I really look forward to meeting you and having a good old chin wag! ;-)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

