Mersey woman about town

MY LIFE IN LIPPY AND LEOPARD PRINT

When a WIP is a work in progress no more…

How long have I been talking on this blog about my novel, The Missing Link? A very VERY long time is the answer. Well, yesterday I completed it. The feeling after I made the final correction was truly wonderful, and one I can’t really describe very well so I won’t bother. But if you’ve finished a project recently large or small then I’m sure you can relate.
Why has it taken me this time to box The Missing Link off? Well, (apart from the fact I’ve co-written Big Society The Musical a feature length film, written Past Glories a short film, two stage plays plus a sitcom and numerous short stories over the same period!), when I first embarked on the novel I had no idea how to write the thing, not really. When the maximum length of one’s previous work has been a half hour screenplay or average sized short story, a 100k manuscript carries with it so many more issues.
So not only has my novel been a work in progress, but so have I! I’ve learned how to write a novel as I’ve gone along. It’s been quite a journey.
But a journey I’ve been very pleased to take. I’m very proud of The Missing Link, you can read excerpts here

More updates on The Missing Link’s progress soon…

4 comments on “When a WIP is a work in progress no more…

  1. Matt
    June 21, 2012

    Congratulations. It’s great when you’ve finished a project and in a few days you’ll be planning your second. All the best. X

  2. cathbore
    June 21, 2012

    Thanks Matt, for your kind words! I have a loose plot for he second already, I’m happy to say x

  3. Col Bury
    June 21, 2012

    It’s a huge accomplishment finishing a novel, especially when juggling a busy life. I know, being two thirds through my second attempt via the traditional route. My hat is tipped to you, fine lady.

    Now, go find a publisher! ;-)

  4. cathbore
    June 21, 2012

    Thanks, Col – much luck with yours also!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

