Mersey woman about town

MY LIFE IN LIPPY AND LEOPARD PRINT

Tea’s up in Harrogate

It’s July, and to every crime writer in the UK at least that means only one thing- it’s time to pack our suitcases and head up (or down) to Harrogate, and more specifically Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival.
It’s my fourth year attending, and for me it gets better each year probably because I’ve got to know more people. It’s a very friendly gathering of writers and fans, but I have noticed one particular pattern emerging – for me, anyway.
I always buy a Weekend Rover ticket, which means I get to go all the varied and lively talks – and there’s unlimited tea and coffee.
Now, I’m very much my mother’s daughter; Dorothy Bore was a great believer in getting value for money for everything. Hence, I guzzle more tea and coffee down my gullet over the 4 days in Harrogate than really should be humanly possible.
I never, ever learn…

I’m packing my suitcase tonight and looking forward very much in meeting old friends and new from tomorrow until Sunday; if you’re going and we don’t know each other please come up and say howdy.

Can’t wait!

The ‘official’ Twitter hashtag for the festival is #TOPcrime2012‬, using it is a great way of making friends and sharing Harrogate stories.

Broken, my collection of short stories is available to download on Amazon for Kindle here

7 comments on “Tea’s up in Harrogate

  1. Rebecca Bradley
    July 18, 2012

    I love the unlimited Tea part of the ticket. It’s what keeps me going. It’s my second year there and I’m really looking forward to it. See you there!

  2. bakersfieldlad
    August 1, 2012

    My first time at the Harrogate event, was there for Creative Thursday, loved every minute of it, great old atmospheric venue, interesting and creative people. In the words of a famous cyborg….. “I’ll be back” and next time I will be getting one of those rover tickets…….

    • cathbore
      August 1, 2012

      Thanks for your comment. I was at Creative Thursday too, I booked it before I got my agent but I went anyway because it’s always a good day. What a shame we didn’t get a chance to chat, but if you get a Rover next year no doubt we’ll meet up at some point over a cup of tea or coffee – or something stronger…

      • bakersfieldlad
        August 5, 2012

        Hi again I was in group B – were you in A as I dont recall seeing you in B at the Swan? Yes by all means it would be nice to meet up and I should definitely have my first nov finished by then. I learnt so much and I liked the whole atmosphere of the place so I have every intention of returning.

      • cathbore
        August 5, 2012

        I think I was in group B – the one who had Greg Mosse in the morning then forensics in the afternoon?

      • bakersfieldlad
        August 5, 2012

        Ah OK we were in the same group then as I had Greg Mosse first thing – and enjoyed that session! Have to say the session which really made think was Dragons Pen – to see what the agents and publishers liked and didnt like, and I felt sorry for some who seemed a little crushed by the comments. Do you recall the girl with the sci-fi story about an orthopaedic surgeon? Looked for her at the end to speak to her but she had gorn poor thing – think she got the worst mauling……

      • cathbore
        August 5, 2012

        I left before Dragons Pen, as was meeting friends; but I took part in 2010 and thankfully was well received – I can only imagine what it would’ve been like if they hated my work. In public, too…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2012 by in books, crime writing, writing and tagged , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

