Mersey woman about town

MY LIFE IN LIPPY AND LEOPARD PRINT

The pleasures of pub signs

Being a keen reader – I read the back of the cereal packet at breakfast if nothing else is to hand – then it follows (like many writers) that when I’m out and about I can’t help but notice stuff – on signs in particular.

Bad grammar and punctuation winds me up but I do love funny signs – in the area where I live, there are some at the moment which I find hilarious every time I walk in past certain hostelries near our home.

I thought I’d share them with you…

At 11.01am there is NO free toastie with your pint, you’ve missed out

No ‘divvies’. Good to know

Broken, my collection of short stories is available to download on Amazon for Kindle here

4 comments on “The pleasures of pub signs

  1. Jennifer Stuart
    July 29, 2012

    I like looking at signs too, now I’m probably going to start noticing all of the grammar problems :)

  2. cathbore
    July 29, 2012

    Thanks for your comment, Jennifer. I always feel like correcting the errors I see on signs…

  3. Tony Cowin (@TonyCowin)
    July 29, 2012

    Best one I ever saw was inside a pub in Widnes many moons ago. I was playing in a band and we had done some dives before , but this one had a sign in the ‘Lounge’ that read ‘Strictly No Drugs To Be Used Or Sold In here Please Use The Bar’. Ended up being a great night.

    • cathbore
      July 29, 2012

      Tony, that’s sheer and utter class! Love it

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 29, 2012 by in Merseyside, reading, writing and tagged .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 178 other followers

