Mersey woman about town

MY LIFE IN LIPPY AND LEOPARD PRINT

Tunnelling in Liverpool? Why, yes

I’ve always fancied going down to check out Williamson’s Tunnels near the University of Liverpool/Edge Lane area but never got round to it.
 
I’d never seen punk legend Vic Godard (& Subway Sect) live either, so when he announced a gig there this month then it was a no-brainer, as (some) Americans say.

It’s a strange place – of course there’s some dispute why the Tunnels were built – but I was surprised what a nice venue it has hidden away. I had images of a sewer, or it being damp/brass monkeys at least but there was no need for my vest or wellies at all, what a cracking little venue and an amazing gig (I’m going to be uncool here and say I prefer Vic Godard’s ‘pop’ stuff rather than his brief initial foray into punk – nothing thrills me more than a writer who indulges in clever word play, whether that be prose, song or other genres).

Me being a writer, one of my habits is gegging into conversations in the hope of sourcing some good material.
My top audience quotes from the gig included (and I must stress they’re talking about Vic here) these two sparkling diamonds:
‘Blood hell. I’m going into town. He’s old.’ and ‘He’s a funny feller,isn’t he? Just look at his eyebrows. Oh, he’s putting his glasses on.’
Wonderful.
Hubby & I enjoyed the gig so much we’re seriously considering going to see Vic again in Hyde* next month (*no Harold Shipman gags, if you please) but we’ll definately doing the full trip of the Williamson Tunnels before that.
Sometimes you don’t notice brill places on your doorstep…

www.cathbore.com

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2011 by in writing and tagged , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Twitter Updates

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

