The Fixer

I can’t be the only person reading this who, when they visit a book or record shop, um, rearranges stock to their liking? There are always books and records which in my view need shifting about a bit so that casual browsers might spy them and do the right thing. I feel like I’m sticking it up to the man, being mildly punk and anarchic, albeit in an admittedly benign way.

This snap of Edwyn Collins, Grace Maxwell and Dave Haslam at Dancehouse Theatre in Manchester would be outstanding were it not for the mysterious straying head
This snap of Edwyn Collins, Grace Maxwell and Dave Haslam at Dancehouse Theatre in Manchester would be outstanding were it not for the mysterious straying head

I was in Manchester last weekend to catch Edwyn Collins talking and singing and sharing his wonderful The Possibilities Are Endless film, so would like to apologise to Piccadilly Records, the Record Exchange and the big Waterstones for rotating their stock over the length of two days (although really you should be thanking me, you were hiding some real gems from your lovely customers. I see myself more as a fixer, really). I hope this confession doesn’t mean that I’ll have to visit these shops in disguise in future. Surely not?

@cathbore

Leave a Reply

