We’re a nation of terrible paparazzi

I was walking to the shops the other week. A woman parked her car on the other side of the road, and came over to me with a strange look on her face. As she came closer, I realised she was smothering a smile.

“Did you know you’ve got your skirt tucked into your knickers?”  she said, before corpsing big time.

SHE PARKED HER CAR. Bless her darling heart.

We had a good – and long – laugh, because what else could you do? It genuinely was very funny. “You really wedged your skirt in…really high…” she added, making folding motions with her hand, which set us both off again.

Someone said to me afterwards that it was luck on my part that this Good Samaritan for Women Who Can’t Dress Properly helped me, partly because there are so many people who would’ve filmed me on their phones and put it on YouTube (or wherever). You know, for larfs. And the bantz. I honestly never thought about that. As far as I know no one has (please God) but it got me thinking, and worrying.

At the boxing gym this week I was sparring with a new member, and before I had chance to blink her mate had filmed our session and put it on Snapchat. I wasn’t asked if I was ok being filmed by some stranger, and to be honest I’m not even sure why I didn’t say anything. Ordinarily I would.

I think it was because I was shocked, and my defenses were down. The gym is a safe place where you’re meant to be able to sweat (or glow, in may case ‘cos I’m a lady) and look as rubbish as you like. If you can’t relax when you’re working out, when can you?

But then again, why can’t we relax everywhere? Going back to the tucked in knickers incident again, even a couple of years ago we wouldn’t dream of even thinking someone might take a snap of something like that. But now it’s an automatic reaction.

My point is, we should be able to go out for a pint of milk without wariness. But that goes for everything else we do too. I get a shiver of horror when I see sneery photos of folk on social media getting their shoes mocked, VPL zoomed in on or unfortunate women like me who accidentally and foolishly expose their underwear.

I think it’s rude to take photos of people without their permission.   To my mind, it’s ok to take the piss out of yourself with this sort of thing, but definitely not ok to do it to others.

It’s like we’ve turned into a nation of terrible paparazzi. Very bad manners, in my opinion, whether we think someone else looks daft or not.

@cathbore

Leave a Reply

